West Bengal Panchayat results: TMC takes lead in most constituencies

Adjust Comment Print

In this article, we'll follow the live updates of West Bengal Panchayat Samitis and winning candidates. The state witnessed violence in a number of places during the panchayat polls on May 14, due to which re-polling was held on Wednesday in 568 Panchayat election booths spread across 19 districts of the state. Some reports are saying that CPI (M) leader Sitaram Yechury dismisses the remarks of Derek O' Brien that violence occurred during the Left rule too, saying if that was true, Mamata Banerjee would never have come to power in the state.

As the counting in Panchayat polls is underway in various constituencies, All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) is leading in most of the constituencies. The main Zilla Parishads are Bankura, Burdwan, Birbhum, Darjeeling, Howrah, Hooghly, Jalpaipuri, Cooch Bihar, Malda, Paschim Medinipur, Purba Murshidabad, Nadia, Purulia, North 24-Parganas, South 24-Parganas, Dakshin Dinajpur, Uttar Dunajpur, Siliguri MP, Kolkata-North, Alipurduar, Kolkata-South and Paschim Burdwan. However, they were behind TMC in the panchayat samiti seat, where they filed nomination through the same route. In the 20 zilla parishads, 203 of the 825 seats were uncontested, the sources said.

The BDOs and SDOs of blocks where repoll will take place have been advised to make announcements on loudspeakers.

The repoll was necessitated following largescale violence on May 14 single phase panchayat election in 20 districts of the state in which some 26 people have been killed so far during polling day and post-poll violence.

More news: Pennsylvania Women Advance in Primary Campaigns for House Seats
More news: 'Infinity War' breaks box office record in Vietnam
More news: The Nokia X6 Has Been Officially Announced

West Bengal: TMC workers celebrate as their party is leading in #PanchayatElections. It was nothing but a murder of democracy.

"Where is the spirit of democracy?" The counting for the Gram panchayat elections has started from 8 A.M. today.

To maintain law and order, the State Election Commission has ordered that no victory rallies will be allowed by political parties till all results are announced.