Rajya Sabha MP Rajeev Chandrasekhar joins BJP

Adjust Comment Print

Valera filed his nomination papers apparently with the support of some Congress MLAs, after two official candidates Amiben Yagnik and tribal leader Naran Rathwa filed their forms. Elections will be held on the 23rd of March and with the way the die is cast. Ashok Bajpai, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Sakaldeep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam and Harnath Singh Yadav, besides Jain and Rao, are its candidates from Uttar Pradesh.

Elections to 58-Rajya Sabha seats are scheduled for March 23, but saw much drama across the political spectrum on the last day of filing of nominations on Monday.

The BJP has fielded Ghaziabad-based businessman Anil Agarwal and two others in the March 23 elections.

The candidates include Abhishek Manu Singhvi from West Bengal, senior journalist Kumar Ketkar from Maharashtra and former Union Minister Naranbhai Rathwa. In keeping with the BJP's strength in the state Assembly, three candidates of the party can be elected with the help of a few independents and small parties. The BJP had earlier announced the name of Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley.

More news: Virginia loses key player to broken wrist three days before NCAA tournament
More news: This Performance 'Broke' Kelly Clarkson on 'The Voice'
More news: Google Assistant Lands on the iPad

The other candidates are former Rajya Sabha MP Dhiraj Prasad Sahu from Jharkhand, former state minister Rajmani Patel from Madhya Pradesh and former MP Porika Balram Naik from Telangana. BJP has nominated Rajeev Chandrashekar, who was an independent Rajya Sabha member and joined the party yesterday, and the JDS, B M Farooq. Nearly all the candidates are certain to win due to the party's numerical strength in respective state assemblies, party sources said.

The Congress has named Babu Prasad as the UDF opposition candidate from Kerala.

Meanwhile, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) had fielded Manoj Jha and Ashfaque Karim as Rajya Sabha candidates.

The Bharatiya Janata Party Central Election Committee on Sunday decided the following names for the ensuing biennial Rajya Sabha elections to the council of different states. The Congress has chosen the Dalit-Minority-Vokkaliga caste combination to appease these vote banks for the upcoming Assembly elections.