Lok Sabha bypolls in Uttar Pradesh: Counting of votes begins

Adjust Comment Print

Bharatiya Janata Party is close second with 56,945 votes. Congress stands at an abysmal 2,386 votes. But with no observer to sign the forms, official statistics aren't out yet.

Phulpur Bypoll: Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 9924 votes with 87,272 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel second with 77,348 votes after eight round of counting. Losing this seat would mean a huge loss for the BJP.

According to the EC, there are 19.61 lakh voters in the Phulpur Parliamentary constituency, while the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat has 19.49 lakh voters. A constituency won by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on five successive occasions, the saffron party not only has to win Gorakhpur but also retain, if not increase, Adityanath's 2014 victory margin of nearly 3.13 lakh votes.

Justifying their decision, Gorakhpur DM said, " Counting of votes is underway.

In Phulpur the SP has taken a lead with 54, 562 votes against BJP's Kaushiendra Singh Patel of the BJP with 47, 631 votes.

SP's Praveen Kumar Nishad leading with 59907 votes, BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla second with 56,945 votes after 4th round of counting for Gorakhpur bypoll.

Termed by Adityanath a "rehearsal" for the 2019 Lok Sabha election, the bypolls saw a triangular contest involving the ruling BJP, the SP and the Congress.

More news: RBI bars banks from issuing LoUs in Nirav scam fallout
More news: Stormy Daniels interview to air on '60 Minutes'
More news: Muhammad Wilkerson to sign with Green Bay Packers

Counting has begun for the Phulpur Lok Sabha seat.

Poor voting percentage in the by polls and the coming together of arch rivals SP-Bahujan Samaj Party has made the contest interesting in the elections. The direct fight is between SP, BSP and BJP.

The result for the Gorakhpur Bye-Elections 2018 will be declared today.

The bypolls were necessitated after Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats respectively, following their election to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council.

Demographics in this constituency favors the opposition combine due to the presence of almost 2.5 lakh voters belonging to the Muslim community.

However, as of now, only the initial rounds of counting has been completed, and these are heavily influenced by postal votes.