Balochistan Assembly meets today to elect new leader of house

Adjust Comment Print

Addressing a joint news conference in Quetta, Deputy Opposition Leader in the provincial assembly, Engineer Zamruk Khan Achakzai along with other coalition partners hoped that the nominated Chief Minister Abdul Quddus Bizenjo would establish peace and security in the province and address the public issues.

He was elected receiving least number of votes in the electoral history of Pakistan.

Besides Agha, another PkMAP lawmaker, Abdul Rahim Ziaratwal, also filed nomination papers for the election of the Leader of the House on Friday but withdrew it today in favour of Liaquat Agha who is also competing for the provincial CM post. "He resigned with grace and upheld the democratic traditions in Balochistan", the newly elected CM said.

He was proposed by Jan Muhammad Jamali, Sardar Bhootani, Dr Ruquyia Saeed Hashmi, Zafarullah Zehri and Ghulam Dastagir Badini, and seconded by Sarfaraz Bugti, Amanullah Notezai, Prince Ahmed Ali, Mir Aamir Khan Rind and Molvi Maazullah.

Speaking to media reporters, Bizenjo said that he would come up to the expectations of the parties who had expressed their confidence in him.

Following the in-house election, the new chief minister will take oath of his office at 5 pm. He also said that bureaucrats should support him in implementing his plans for the betterment of the province and to effectively address the problems faced by the citizens. This signifies that PML-N MPs also voted for the new CM. "I have no personal differences with Nawab Sanaullah Zehri and I have the deepest respect for him".

More news: Nearly all the Great Barrier Reef sea turtles have turned female
More news:, Inc. (AMZN) Shares Bought by Rockefeller Financial Services Inc
More news: Seahawks 'expected to hire' Brian Schottenheimer as OC

Retracing the steps of his father, who was thrice elected from Awaran, Bizenjo commenced his political career from his hometown Shindi Jhao Awaran.

PML N, Q nominate Quddus Bizenjo was born in Awaran on January 1, 1974, and contested elections for the first time in 2002. In 2008, he was re-elected on PML-Q's ticket and joined Nawab Aslam Raisani's cabinet as minister for livestock, successfully completing a five-year tenure.

Bizenjo belongs to the troubled Awaran district of Balochistan and was elected on a PML-Q ticket during general elections 2013.

The assembly session headed by Speaker Raheela Hameed Durrani began at 11.30 am. The no-confidence motion submitted against Zehri on January 2 by MPAs Mir Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo and Syed Agha Raza had the signatures of 14 lawmakers.

Presence of Pakistan People's Party (PPP) co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari's close aide Qayyum Soomro on Saturday in Balochistan Assembly during voting to elect fresh chief minister (CM) has caught political commentators' attention.