Torey Lovullo and Paul Molitor win Managers of the Year

Adjust Comment Print

The American and National League baseball Managers of the Year will be announced Tuesday, Nov. 14, 2017. Lovullo was part of a new direction in which the organization wanted to go.

Lovullo beat out division rivals Bud Black, in his first year managing the Colorado Rockies, and the Dodgers' Dave Roberts as finalists for the award.

Molitor's victory was closer than that of the National League, as he received 18 first-place votes in comparison to the 11 that Cleveland Indianas skipper Terry Francona received.

Lovullo wins the award as a first-year manager just as Roberts did following the 2016 season. He joins Kirk Gibson in 2011 and Bob Melvin in 2007.

Milwaukee Brewers manager Craig Counsell (33) was fourth, followed by former Washington Nationals manager Dusty Baker (25) and Joe Maddon (3) of the Chicago Cubs. The Twins entered the season with paltry expectations and were sellers at the trade deadline, yet played well down the stretch to earn the AL's second Wild Card spot.

More news: Jon Stewart says he's 'stunned' by the allegations against Louis CK
More news: China overtakes U.S. in TOP500 list of world's fastest supercomputers
More news: Steelers' Ben Roethlisberger on Thursday games: It's tough physically

Molitor, who was elected to the Hall of Fame as a player in 2004, is the second Hall of Famer to be named Manager of the Year. The Twins lost in the one-game Wild Card playoff by the Yankees. Last year, the Twins led the majors with 103 losses. He's the first Twins manager to win the award since Ron Gardenhire in 2010 and the third in franchise history (Tom Kelly, 1991).

Molitor received 18 first-place votes, six second-place votes, and four third-place votes.

Hinch navigated the Astros to a 101-61 record and their first-ever World Series title in his third season at the helm.

Lovullo won the honor in voting by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.